• 1 of 5 Banner GWT 25
  • 2 of 5 Banner GWT 25-1
  • 3 of 5 Banner GWT 25-2
  • 4 of 5 Banner GWT 25-3
  • 5 of 5 Banner GWT 25-4

October 21, 2015

MMDA, Metro Manila Cities Adopt Lando-hit LGUs in Northern Luzon

In a bid to help speed up the recovery of localities ravaged by Typhoon Lando in Luzon, the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) and the Metro Manila mayors agreed on Wednesday to adopt some local government units (LGUs) that were hit by the typhoon.

During the meeting of the Metro Manila Council (MMC), MMDA Officer in Charge Emerson Carlos approved the resolution to adopt some of the LGUs that bore the brunt of Lando.

Carlos said that just like what the MMC did during the aftermath of super typhoon Yolanda in the Visayas Region, a Metro Manila mayor will select an LGU affected by the natural calamity to be assisted in according to his capacity to adopt it.

He said the mayor can adopt two or three Lando-hit LGUs and help them in their recovery efforts within a year.

MMC, composed of 17 mayors of the National Capital Region, is the policy-making body of the MMDA.

The money to be utilized for the adopt-an-LGU scheme and will be sourced out from the respective Metro mayors’ disaster risk reduction management funds.

During the MMC meeting, the body has initially listed 18 municipalities in Luzon affected by Lando and are up for adoption by the Metro mayors.

The following list of Metro Manila LGUs and their adopted localities in the Luzon region:

- Muntinlupa City - Jaen and Lupao, both in Nueva Ecija
- Valenzuela City - San Antonio, Nueva Ecija
- Las Pinas City – Calumpit, Bulacan
- Quezon City – San Miguel, Bulacan; Bambang, Nueva Ecija; Baler, Quezon
- San Juan City – Caba, La Union
- Manila – Cabanatuan City

Some of the Metro LGUs, including Pasay and Taguig cities, have yet to select a municipality to adopt as representatives only attended the MMC meeting and have to consult first their respective local chief executives.



Calendar of Events